X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prednisone hair fall out?

Hi. I have been on prednisone for two weeks. My rheum put me on 10mgs and then my kidney doctor put me on 60mgs! Wow! I could feel it. I have tapered to 40 mgs and then will gradually go back to 10 mgs. I can honestly say it is the only drug that helps my arthritis pain and stiffness!

Does anyone have a side effect of their hair falling out? I have noticed this lately and I am not sure if it is the pred or the lupus? Any thoughts would be appreciated! Now that i am tapering off I hope this helps it. I am diagnosed with lpus sle and nephritis.

Hi, I have never had hair loss due to pred, if anything the opposite. Pred helped my hair stop falling out. It sounds more like your lupus is flaring to me, but obviously I am not a doctor!! Glad the pred is helping you.

Comment

Dont know if your on same meds but when they put me on aziathioprine my hair started to thin substantially but had all my hair cut into short bob and have kept it short and regularly cut also dont use any products on my hair unless i have to and rarely straighten it this seems to have helped quite a lot , also there are some very nice hairdressers that will tell you the best way to keep it in good condition. But i must emphasis it wasnt falling out in clumps just things like i would get out of the bath and it would be full of hairor my brush would fill from brushing it once that kinda thing , hope that helps xxxxxx

Comment

Thank you for the responses! I have just been noticing a little bit more in the hairbrush,, but I know that I have been watching this much more closely lately so it could be fairly normal hair loss. I have three daugthers too, all with long hair, so our hairbrushes are used quite often! I would love the prednisone to get my hair thicker,, that would be a good side effect. Thanks for the tips!

Comment

Hi Southshoremom,