X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 4 symptoms of lupus out of 11

Since I have 4 symptoms of the criteria for lupus, I was diagnosed with lupus. But I have a question and was wondering how they might know that it's not another disease with those symptoms?

I am not an expert here but my doctor told me because of my positive anti DNA I have lupus. I know it's a combination of criteria and blood work. If you have the right combo that last for more than three months I think that is how they do it. Not sure though.

Comment

Hi Postie, a diagnosis of lupus is not something that is given lightly. It takes a combination of symptoms and blood results to have been observed by an experienced doc. Without you saying which of the 4 symptoms you have, I am unable to say exactly why the doc has arrived at this conclusion. Each disease usually has certain distinguishing features, such as RA erodes the joints in a particualar way. Occasionally some people get overlapping features of two or more diseases which can be diagnosed as MIxed connective tissue disease. Others have features of various diseases but not enough to give a definitive diagnosis of a specific disease so get a diagnosis of Unspecified connective tissue disease.

I know it is hard to accept that you have a diagnosis of lupus, it takes time and some adjustment. However many who are unwell at the time of diagnosis find that once their medication has been sorted, they are able to live a relatively 'normal' life. You will find plenty of support on this forum, you are not alone!!

Comment

I agree with Debatat, Lupus is not a diagnosis that is thrown out there lightly.
        If you have doubts you can always, and I recommend you do get a second opinion.
        It is a diagnosis of The Entire picture, not just the 4 criteria.
        What has your blood work shown, any abnormals?
        I wish you luck moving forward. Have they put you on Plaquenil or any other drugs?