Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Positive D-Dimer?

Hi Guys, hope everyone is doing well.

I was just wondering if anyone knows much about the D-Dimer blood test. I was reading my hospital notes the other day whilst I was waiting in clinic and I was reading through the section added when I was in hospital last October for suspected Pulmonary Embolism. In the notes it says in big capitals D-Dimer POSITIVE...then goes on to say they will perform a CT -which they did...then when they saw no clots on the ct they discharged me..writing "D-Dimer possibly due to active Lupus" and nothing further has ever been done about it. I work as a medical lab assistant and I know a positive d-dimer is caused by the body breaking down blood clots...so therefore indicative of a blood clot..and I cannot see anything on the net or in books about lupus causing a positive d-dimer...so why was it not followed up? I'm a little worried! Does anyone know anything that could be helpful? Thanks x

Hi,
    yes raised d dimer is usually what promts docs to check for blood clots as it can be an indicater of these.
    I am not sure about any connection with lupus but do know that it can also be caused by infection or virus.

Hope you manage to get some anwers.

Cassie

Comment

Hi mooks,

It sounds like they checked you for clots and found none so that's good (obviously ) If you did have one then your body did what it was supposed to do. Are you lupus anticoagulant or anti-cardiolipin positive? Have you ever been tested for those?

From what I just read on labtestslonline there are various reasons for a positive and also false positives. I don't know if you fall into any of those categories but I will give you the website link, it may help.

http://www.labtestsonline.org/unders...imer/test.html

I hope things are a lot better for you these days and you aren't as unwell as you were.

love
      Lily

Comment

Hi Mooks,