Newly diagnosed | Lupus Forums at The Lupus Site
  1. As you can see we have transferred to new forum software which is much more stable and will eliminate problems that we had with the old software.
    *** To login you will all need to reset your passwords. To do this simply click login (top right) then click the forgot password link. You will receive an email with a link to reset your password. You can then use the forums as normal.
    Dismiss Notice

Newly diagnosed

Discussion in 'Newly diagnosed' started by tishalou, Feb 11, 2017.

1. tishalou

tishalou New Member

Hey everyone! I'm new at this whole thing, and adjusting to my new normal. I was just diagnosed with SLE on Monday even though I've been showing symptoms for a couple of years now. I recently had my second baby (3 months postpartum) which caused an insane flare up, leading to my diagnosis. My main question is has any one had troubles with their lymph nodes (enlarged lymph nodes, pain) and what do you do to help with it?! My lymph nodes in my armpits, arms, breasts, legs and groin hurt soooo bad! I'm about to go crazy!! Thank you! :)

2. mark176

mark176 Active Member

Hi

The lymph node swelling is common. However, once its controlled and meds kick in that problem will go away. Lymph nodes swell when your immune system reacts to bacteria, well in lupus the immune system is constantly active as its fighting body

When i was on plaquenil alone i still go nodes swelling. Now im on plaquenil and mepacrine i dont get the swelling

Are u on meds? If so which ones

Kind regards
    Mark

3. tishalou

tishalou New Member

Mark, thank you so much for your reply! I'm so happy to hear that I'm not the only one to struggle with the lymph node issue! That makes sense why they would swell and cause pain though. It's hard because I love my PCP but he just doesn't have all the answers to my questions! I can't wait to get into a rheumatologist and get more answers.