Vitamins & minerals supplements- what do you take? | Lupus Forums at The Lupus Site
  1. As you can see we have transferred to new forum software which is much more stable and will eliminate problems that we had with the old software.
    *** To login you will all need to reset your passwords. To do this simply click login (top right) then click the forgot password link. You will receive an email with a link to reset your password. You can then use the forums as normal.
    Dismiss Notice

Vitamins & minerals supplements- what do you take?

Discussion in 'Living with lupus' started by LupusMuscleAttack2017, Sep 12, 2017.

1. Hi everyone!

I'm new to Lupus and am having my 1st major flare still.

In addition to the prescriptions, I supplement with Ginger, Turmeric, JustOne Multivitamin, FishOil with high Omega 3, Moringa powder (sometimes) and Magnesium (sometimes).

Which ones (vitamins, minerals, and herbs) do you take, if any? Let's discuss what seems to work for you.

2. lazylegs

lazylegs Moderator

Hi,

My rheumy has me taking Calcium with vitamin D, Magnesium and B12. I use to take Potassium but my numbers are up and I make a concentrated effort to eat foods high in it.

Take care,
    Lazylegs

3. keebler

keebler Moderator

Hi,

It is a good idea to check with your rhumey before adding over the counter meds.
    Some will fight with your Rx meds that you are taking.
    Take care,
    Lyn

4. Thanks Lyn. My doc already knows. Did you see the question above: which ones do you take?

5. keebler

keebler Moderator

I take Calcium with Vitamin D & a multivitamin.

6. omen

omen FKA Clare.T

I take Vitamin D daily on my lupus expert doctors advice. They say everybody in northern climes is deficient! I avoid the sun and I'm almost housebound, so my levels were inevitably low. I also take alendronate on medical advice, given my age and the risks and likelihood of osteoporosis.