Winter.. fist day of and I am meeting with an ALJ | Lupus Forums at The Lupus Site
  1. As you can see we have transferred to new forum software which is much more stable and will eliminate problems that we had with the old software.
    *** To login you will all need to reset your passwords. To do this simply click login (top right) then click the forgot password link. You will receive an email with a link to reset your password. You can then use the forums as normal.
    Dismiss Notice

Winter.. fist day of and I am meeting with an ALJ

Discussion in 'Social Security / Disability Benefits' started by Jennannshear, Dec 13, 2010.

1. Jennannshear

Jennannshear Registered

So December 21st.. Winter solstice.. I am meeting with the ALJ via video conference. . . My first time ever doing this and I am nervous. My husband is dropping me off and will pick me up with I call him. I am heading in alone. Any advice? Maybe some do's and dont's?

I am not very good at showing my "weakness" - and I know I hate to let this ALJ know exactly how Lupus affected me and how it still does.. why its not possible to work. I need an honest answer.. my sister asked why I dont work a few hours during school hours... the honest answer to that is that even when I have energy to do a few hours a day, I am worse off the next day.. and because my daughter has TS and now my son who just turned 8 is also shows signs of TS, what LITTLE time I do have alone, I sleep.. nights are not sleep-able.. ya know.. IF the ALJ does ask me, do I tell him this? Because it is a huge part of my life.. it is my "job". I know I have 9 days before that meeting but I am so trying to think of how to respond.. I am not good at it!! UGH:eek:

2. cally

cally Registered

Hi,

I'm on the other side of the pond so can't help specifically. All I would say is be completely honest about how your life is affected, and think about how you are on your worst day when you are describing it.