Work Capability Assessment Medical | Lupus Forums at The Lupus Site
  1. As you can see we have transferred to new forum software which is much more stable and will eliminate problems that we had with the old software.
    *** To login you will all need to reset your passwords. To do this simply click login (top right) then click the forgot password link. You will receive an email with a link to reset your password. You can then use the forums as normal.
    Dismiss Notice

Work Capability Assessment Medical

Discussion in 'Social Security / Disability Benefits' started by michuk, Jun 24, 2009.

1. michuk

michuk Guest

Hi there

I am due to attend my Work Capability Assessment Medical soon and just wanted to find out if anyone else in the UK has done this and what to expect.

The DWP have informed me that I am not entitled to any benefits as I haven't paid enough NI (even though I have been working for the last 20 years and paid my taxes!) and also that my partner works full-time, even though we are not married! The DWP have said that I just have to get better and get a job! Easy for them to say, when they don't suffer with SLE!! :mad:

Anyway, any advice about the medical would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
    michuk

2. KarolH

KarolH Registered

I am in the US so I have no good advice yet wanted to tell you good luck and let us know how you make out.:wink2::wink2::wink2:

3. michuk

michuk Guest

Thanks Karol.
    Much appreciated! :)

4. Jencg

Jencg Registered

Hi, the best advice which was given to me was to keep in mind how bad you are on your worst day and use that as a baseline.

That does not mean you have to pretend to feel bad but it may be on the day of your appointment, you are having a slightly better day.

I had to keep stressing that I have to rely on my husband to help me get dressed and undressed. I also made sure the doctor was aware of changes we had made at home to make life more tolerable.

Hope that helps.

Jen.

5. doublejulia