The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the boards. I was recently dx about 3 months ago, since then things are quickly showing me new signs. Now I have hand and feet tingling and swelling. So what really does having a flair up mean? Is it more just a constant state of pain and symptoms or does it come and go. I'm so frustrated now that my hands have turned on me, actually I'm a little depressed and really just feeling sorry for myself.

Thanks for reading!!

·
Registered
276 Posts
Hi there!

I've not yet been diagnosed although it's suspected I have lupus? I'm not sure what a flare is myself but just wanted to let you know that I can fully sympathise with the hand and feet problem you're having. I've had the tingling and on and off swelling now in my hands for a few months and it is annoying!!!! My hands and feet also turn blotchy sometimes and different colours.:(

I really hope you are feeling much better soon and take care of yourself.:)
Keep your chin up;)

Mrs M

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hello and welcome :)

Really the answer to your question is that a flare is different for everyone.

Some people describe their lupus as feeling like they've got a mild or half dose of the flu and when they flare it feels like full blown flu. For others it means an increase in joint pain, crushing fatigue, headaches, possibly low grade fever... it really can vary so much.

For some people flares come and go and will be relatively short (a week or two), for some people a flare can, unfortunately, go on for months.

After a while you will know when you are flaring or not.

I think your feeling depressed is quite understandable. You have a relatively new diagnosis for a chronic disease and that takes a good while to get your head around. You will have times when you feel down and hopefully during those times we can help you with support and advice.