The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
My name is Jenna, but I am not diagnosed with lupus. As a child my best friends older sister was diagnosed with the disease and was in and out of the hospital until her untimely death at 15. Having someone close to me go through the confusing experience of having lupus struck a chord with me, and I have been interested in the disease since then.
At the moment, I am an Anthropology student at the University of Kent in Canterbury, Kent. I am doing my Masters in social anthropology, and have taken quite a turn towards the medical anthropology side. I am doing a project that involves people who are suffering with Lupus and their personal experiences with the disease, with coming to terms with having the disease, as well as the process that they went through to get diagnosed with the disease, or even if they are not yet diagnosed, I want to know how they are feeling.

The Title of my project is "The Conceptualization of the Body and the Anthropology of Autoimmune Disorders". I will also put in the summary of my research, and am hoping that someone (or many someones) would like to talk to me about their experiences.

Summary: The aim of this research is to look into how illness, and the experience of sickness (specifically autoimmune disorders, where it is the body attacking itself) can offer insight into understanding the “mindful body” (Scheper-Hughes & Lock 1987). What sorts of symptoms are experienced, and how are they articulated? The body can be seen as a natural symbol in the western society, it provides us with our richest sources of metaphors when dealing with health (including that of a healthy society). ‘Body image’ as the communal and personal representations about the body is in direct relation to the environment, including both internal and external perceptions.