The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just like nearly all of us, I suffer from joint pain and swelling/ arthritis. I have it mostly on the tops of my hands from about the wrist to mid-way up and my wrists and fingers. I am only taking hydroxychloroquine and motrin. I was taking prednisone, but have finally got off of it and have been for a week. When I wake, my hands are very sore and my knees will feel locked, but after about an hour or so, they both feel 'alright' . Could I be headed for a remission, or do I have to be without pain and swelling? Doc wants me on methotrexate, but I do ok right now without it. I work as a nursing assistant, going to school for my RN. I do a lot of heavy lifting. Am I living in a dream world that the MCTD will go into remission and I will live a close to normal life? I just hate the idea of being on medications I don't REALLY need. Any thoughts for me? Thanks!:)

·
Registered
4,444 Posts
I would say that you can't be in a remission if you are in pain and have joint swelling... but it can still happen. :) How long have you been on Plaquenil? It can take 6+ months before it reaches full effect.

I can understand being leery of going on additional medication when you are able to manage to get through your days without it; there are pros/cons to consider and weigh out before starting on additional medication like methotrexate and this is definitely something to discuss with your doctor (especially discuss any concerns you have about it). Ultimately the decision is up to you so it's important to do what you are comfortable with.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have been on it about 4 months-- so hoping still time for more improvement :) ! Thanks for your reply. I just wasn't sure if I would be faced with arthritis pain every day now, or it was something that would go away...

·
Premium Member
7,567 Posts