TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
468 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:shrug: Just a while ago I got an email saying that the artificial sweetner in diet items, aspertame, causes the symptoms of MS and lupus. First I'll let you know what it said then say something about it. Apparently when this sweetner gets warm, above 86 degrees the aspertame turns into an acid somewhat like what a fire aunt uses as defense and can cause weakness, joint pain, fatigue and aparently if consumed enough you can be poisoned by the acid.:worried:

Ok, that's the story. But what I would point out is it causes the "symptoms" of lupus and MS, but doesn't cause the blood work to be positive in ANA, rheumatoid factor etc. What I do when I see an email like this sent to me, which it was sent indirectly to me by someone who thinks I am making a big deal out of nothing with the diagnosis of lupus, also thinks that there is a vitamin I can take that will cure it. Of course I am not a doctor, but aspertame is in a lot of stuff and the way I look at it is eat and drink things in moderation so that you get no ill effects from the stuff, as well as keeping drinks etc, room temp. or cold. I used to drink about four or five 64 ounce diet pops a day.:eek: And I thought, this is no good for my bones, or my system so I cut down. Now, my stomach does somewhat better, except for the occasional nausea from the gastroparesis I have, and sometmes I get gastritis. I have started, a couple weeks back, to drink more water, vitamin enhanced mixed water, Gatorade, and other things, with an occasional pop, sometimes more. So if you get this email don't freak out too much, in my opinion, just do things in moderation unless you find a direct connection with your symptoms.:)

·
Registered
150 Posts
Hi,