TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my brother,who had an extremely low platelet count, after a week with no treatment, had to go back to hospital becouse it was so low again
this time they found anti platelet antibodies positive and since i have lupus said it could be idiopatic purpora or lupus too.
the first ana test was slightly positive but the second time it was negative.
no ena
no anti dna
no symptoms
do you think lupus is still an option if ana turned out to be negative the second time? And even if they were positive, with no ena or anti dna ?
what do you think?

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
Dear Enrico, I am no expert so I won't try to advise you. Just wanted to pass my Regards to you and your Brother.
We are here for you.
x Lola

·
Registered
594 Posts
Dear Enrico,
i am so sorry to hear about your brother.
Don't know much really except that if you have lupus it increases the chances of a sibling or child having it, and after how ill your brother has been, if it was me i would be pushing docs to check out this as a possiblility.

Hope he gets better soon

Cassie

·
Registered
2,661 Posts
Hi Enrico,

I'm sorry your brother is unwell, and hope tthe treatment helps him.

It mat take a while to work out what the cause is, especially if it is early days with few symptoms or blood abnormalities. Still there is definately something wrong, and a very low platelet count will at least hold the doctors attention while they work it out.