The Lupus Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone I Am Pretty New To All This And I Was Thinking Of Taking Up Cycling To Keep Me Active. Has Anyone Got Any Advice For Me On What Are The Best Exercises To Do As I Dont Want To Put To Much Pressure On My Joints And Cause A Flare.

·
Registered
869 Posts
I walk, sometimes do Senior (gentle) yoga, even though I'm not senior. There is an excercise dvd out specifically for Lupus patients I am wanting to get, but haven't yet called "the right moves for Lupus".
I think mostly though, what you can/can't do is an individual thing, depending on how the disease effects you in particular, what kind of excercise you usually do etc.. I was very athletic once upon a time and have had to change my excercises to cope with various joint pains, levels of fatigue, sun exposure etc.. In short, if you want to try something and feel you can do it, go for it!:) and then if you need to make adjustments, do so, and don't feel bad or beat yourself up over it. Happy cycling8)

·
Registered
553 Posts
Hey Julie

I am relatively new to this too. The one thing I have learned is to listen to my body and not to exercise if my body is saying rest (defeats the object)! My hubby is getting very good at recognising when I need to rest too!

Cycling is good although I have given up on that just at the moment. I find swimming is great for me and I can tell if I haven't been for a couple of week (get really stiff and feel like an old granny). Its my one bit of "regular" exercise! I go to the beginners lessons on a Friday evening cos I am not a strong swimmer and the pool is quieter.

Walking is good too. I tend to go out with my camera and take pictures (its a good excuse to rest and take a break :lol: )!

Take care and find what works for you.... but don't over do it!

Claire

·
Registered
4,444 Posts