The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a teacher. It is my identity. I love it and I am extremely good at it. I am also a wife and the mother of three kids--2 of whom are Bipolar and have learning disabilities. Hubby is gone each day from 4:30am-7:00pm and understandably tired at the end of his day.

I worked for the last 4 years after my youngest started school. Last year was especially hard on the family as I would come home and need to sleep for 2 hours. I could not be good at both teaching and homemaking. My energy was focused on my job as it really defines me. That meant dinners often fell on my husband as did cleaning and laundry because I slept the weekends away. My LD children weren't fairing well in school because I wasn't there for them.

We decided that I would stay home this year and sub twice a week to help with the finances. I was also going to use this time to finally make this house (that we've lived in for 4 years) a home by painting, organizing the basement, and tackling other projects. I haven't done a single thing. :sad:

I sleep when the kids are at school. The benefit is that I am alert and ready for them afterschool. Their grades have already improved. Dinners are ready at 7:00, and I get the laundry done. The house is somewhat clean. This is all I feel motivated/energetic enough to do. I'm not even in a flare right now! Most of you are feeling far, far worse than I, so why can't I get my butt into gear???