The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone

Hope you are all doing well.:)

Just wanted to get some advice on the medication 'gabapentin'. Have any of you lovely people had any experience with this medication, good or bad?

My GP has prescribed me it today for the pain. I have to start with 1 300mg on day 1. Then 1 twice a day on day 2 going to 3 times a day on the 3rd day onwards!

Tried to google but haven't found much out. I'm not very good with meds and therefore would like to know in advance what they are possibly like:hehe:

The last lot of meds I had that didn't agree were amitriptyline and the docs took me off them.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Mrs M x

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hello Mrs M,

I don't have any personal experience of Gabapentin. It doesn't seem to be on my doc's list of usual meds (I'm in Belgium) but several people here take it, apparently to good effect.

I just wanted to point out that meds are just SO individual. You can read up all you like (and sometimes half scare yourself to death) and listen to others but, at the end of the day, you have to try it with a positive attitude and see if it works.

As an example I was put on cymbalta for neuropathic pain (Lyrica is not reimbursed here unless you have fibro or diabetes) and it made me so violently nauseous and headachy that I had to stop it after two days. On the other hand, there are people here who are on cymbalta and have had no side effects and indeed far prefer it to many alternatives. Finally I was tried on tegretol (carbamazepine) which my neuro says works great for some people and has no effect on others. For me it worked beautifully and I can now stand for a while (maybe not long but infinitely better :)).