TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am chitting spuds! :hehe:

Has anybody tried laying their spuds on top of the soil then covering them with black plastic and simply lifting the plastic to harvest their new potatoes?

I'm told it works, but am sceptical.:rolleyes:

Since it involves no weeding, digging trenches or earthing up I am very interested ...

Any experiences gratefully shared.:wink2:

·
Registered
15,684 Posts
Hi Alwin,

I think I've heard of it with straw but never plastic? :hehe: wouldnt the plastic make them sweaty and rotten :hehe:

love
Lily

·
11,405 Posts
Ok you had me curious growing potatoes in a plastic bag.:lol:
I have never done that before so I googled it. It was very intresting what I found. It actually works.

http://www.humeseeds.com/potato.htm

Please let me know how they turn out. That would be so much easier than having to weed and then dig them up.

I saw new vegetable seed in the store last week. I was so tempted to buy some cucumber seeds. Then I remember how I have never found my cucumber seeds from last year.:umm::blush2: So I quickly walked away from all the garden seeds.:hehe:

I miss my huge garden I use to have. Potatoes was a big part of my garden.

Happy gardening.
Lyn

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Aparently not, Lily, but it doesn't seem quite right somehow. I wonder why, if it's that easy, everybody doesn't do it that way???

I am growing some in old compost bags Lyn. There's a bit of a method, but it's easy and I have no ground space this year due to reorganisation, so bags on the drive sound good.

The plastic sheet over the ground method is different.