TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, my name is Gill. I have had lupus sle for about 7 years, I also have fibromyalgia. I don't know anybody else who has lupus so thought it would be good to talk to others who have lupus. Most of the time I cope well with having lupus but find the fatigue and pain quite difficult. I have two daughters, a cat, 2 guinea pigs and a tortoise. I work as a learning support assistant with special needs children. :)

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hi Gill and :welcome: to the forum,

This is a great place to come where people understand the daily trials and tribulations of living with lupus. I think that even if we cope pretty well on a daily basis the opportunity to talk to others who understand is irreplaceable :hehe: It also gives our loved ones a break from something that they often don't fully understand!

I hope you find the site as supportive and informative as I have,
bye for now,
Katharine

·
Registered
8,577 Posts
Hi Gill,

Welcome to the Lupus Site. I live on the other side of the world from you, on the west coast of the USA. I have lupus overlap with Scleroderma, RA and Fibromyalgia. The fatigue and pain are hard for me too. I had to stop working because of the pain being so bad. It is mostly manageable with all my medications and as long as I pace myself with plenty of rest.

Are you a single parent? Raising children is stressfull enough even when it is good stress. I also honor you for the kind of work you do. I would never have the patience to do that kind of work and my hat is off to all of you who do. My son has adhd and has had his share of resource teachers (the name we give them in my area) and their assistants.

What medications do you take? Do you have pain meds for the bad days?

Take care,
Karen

·
Registered
6,152 Posts
Hi Gill:)