The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone out there

I've got a Rheumi appointment after wearing down my GP, not sure how to deal with it coz I'm not good with Doctors. I'm assuming that going in and talking mostly about the things which are affecting my work is the right tack to take, what do you think?

Actual biggest difficulty I have is Psychosis which means I think I'm God, but have managed to work through this for 20 years, or at least mostly; also on good neuroleptics so can't complain. However the pains in my joints are now intruding on my working life, was diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis 2 years ago in my neck and have been left with grating pain on turning it - sometimes feel when I'm driving I won't be able to turn my neck back once I look over my shoulder.

Just been diagnosed with psoriasis again. Getting more and more migraines/headaches. Stiffness in joints also affecting my ability driving, which is reasonably dangerous as I have 150 mile round trip to work.

Would appreciate any advice around how to tackle this 1st appointment, without a diagnosis I feel like a bit of a fraud, don't feel able to talk to my partner and friends about my fears coz feels like whinging - feel quite alone in this and not a little bit sad...wish I could be a bit more positive.

Any suggestions how to get the best out of my appointment on 2/1/09?

Thank you for reading this far - you are strong indeed!
Beth:sad:

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
Hello Beth,
One of the first things I would suggest is that you look for any family history of auto immune conditions. That would be a good starting point.
x Lola

·
Registered
149 Posts
For a start, make yourself some notes - just short bullet points.