The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to everyone,

Im a 38yr old mother of three. Im also a community midwife.

I have suffered from migraines and a sun allergy for years. Since October last year Ive had a rash on my face, neck, chest and nasal sores - which just wont clear up no matter what lotions or potions I try! I also have Raynauds, joint pain and for the last 8 wks Ive been constantly tired - I have been known to sleep all day, get up at 7pm, have a shower then go straight back to bed and sleep all night too, which is completely out of character - I should have been an owl!

I finally went to my G.P. who talked to me about lupus. My FBC shows raised ESR and low Lymphocyte count and Im still awaiting my ANA result.

Im thinking that its probably worth getting a referal to St Thomas's even if my ANA comes back negative. What are your views? Do you think its worth getting my G.P. to refer me to Dr D'Cruz?

Midwife x

·
Registered
4,444 Posts
Welcome to the site and yes - I think it's worth a referral to Dr. DCruz *especially* if your ANA comes back negative. Has the rash been investigated by a dermatologist? Be sure to take pictures of your rashes for your upcoming rheumatologist appointment as they do tend to have a knack of disappearing just in time for an appointment.

Many people here who have had a difficult time getting a diagnosis find diagnosis happens when they get a skin biopsy from a dermatologist. With any luck - you'll get in quickly to a rheumatologist and a diagnosis of some sort (lupus, UCTD) will be obvious with bloodwork combined with your symptoms though... & treatment can get started quickly.

Best wishes to you!

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
Dr.D'Cruz is wonderful and if a referral is on offer you would do well to take it.
He has treated me for quite a few years and my Daughter also.
Best of Luck and welcome here.
x Lola

·
Registered
14,661 Posts
Welcome to the forum