TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I found this forum while searching on google. While clicking here and there, I found some useful & interesting info ... so I thought I'll ask a question that I couldn't find any info by searching:

How can you get insured if you already have lupus? (do you tell them, or you hold on it?)

I was diagnosed with lupus in Europe, but now I live in California and I am trying to figure out what insurance should I apply for, and what should I look into the plans they offer.

I don't have any symptoms right now, but since in US the health industry costs soooo much, I am trying to be prepared for anything.

as I said I live in California, can any of you help me with this? I would appreciate it very much!

Thank you in advance

(I hope I posted in the right category)

·
Registered
14,661 Posts
Welcome to the forum
I am sorry that I can't help you with your question because I have no relevant experience of health insurance in the USA. Just from general knowledge, it is very hard to get any sort of insurance anywhere with an SLE diagnosis except at a high premium. Also I am pretty sure that if you do not declare it your insurance would be invalid.
Anyway I hope someone will come along who can be more use. There might already be threads on Living with Lupus or USA Disability sections.

All the best
Clare

·
Registered
150 Posts
Hi, I live in California and Clare is correct. It is impossible to obtain private health insurance with SLE. However, if you are working or your husband is working, and your employers offer health insurance, you must be accepted, even with pre-existing conditions. The state of California also offers high risk insurance policies (they really only cover major expenses and with a high deductible) for people who can't get privately insured. That is why it is so important for the US and President Obama to continue to make healthcare a priority.
Take care,

Susan

·