The Lupus Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I would like advice from you all if you can help, im new to all this.

I have had DISCOID LUPAS for about 18 months now and have just been using steroid cream as I just get small red patches appearing on left side of face and the odd spot on the back of my head. The marks come and go with the steroid cream.

I have just got back from the hospital and have said I can go on to hydroxychloroquine (think this is something called planquil?). Here are my questions that if you good people could help with -

As I have discoid lupas will hydroxychloroquine help?

What can I expect to happen when im taking hydroxychloroquine in regards to my marks, will they go as long as im on hydroxychloroquine ?

What are the side effects that I need to consider?

How can these side effects be reduced and what are the chance of me having these side effects?

which is best steroid cream (has not fully cleared the marks) or hydroxychloroquine ?

Also any other information you might have or experienced would be great.

Many thanks for your help, just want to say this site is a god send.

Kevin
Now in Scotland, might try kilt one day.

:)

·
Registered
14,661 Posts
Hello Kev :)
This is really good news ! You are right, this is the drug called Plaquenil.
It tackles the disease from the inside whereas the steroid ointment helps only the outside. With a bit of luck you should see improvement within a couple of months. It is all most people need to clear the existing lesions and reduce disease activity so no new ones appear.

Most people suffer no side effects from this drug. Sometimes there are initial tummy problems especially the runs and farts. Always take it with food and a good drink of water. If he put you on 400 mgs a day you can reduce to 200 mgs for a few days util your body gets used to it.