The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow lupus/FM friends,

I’m Down2earthlupie, to give you some background I’m a 36-year old black female with lupus SLE, lupus nephritis, fibromyaglia, ostopenia, degenerated bone disease, kidney disease, raynauds, and angioedma to name a few. Oh did I mention that I’m an active duty military officer, 17-years.

I first got angioedma in 2006; I went to the ER five times within a 6-8 week period. The doctor said it was a mystery. So I went on with life. In March 2007, I was diagnosed with a plural effusion. The fluid was positive for ANA and so my journey began. I had a collapsed lung for 7-months before I had a thoracic Decortication /pleurodesis /pleurotomy/ bronchoscopy in October 2007.

By March 2008, I was deployed by my choice, to Afghanistan. My civilian rheumatologist was against it, but I was stable (400mg plaquenil and 5-10mg of prednisone). By June 2008, I was medevac from Afghanistan back to the states. It wasn’t determined until October 2008 that I was going through the early stages of kidney failure.

Since then I’ve had numerous aliments, but they weren’t the same as before. In January 2009, I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. I went to two medical boards for the military to get medically retired. Not once, but twice the Army said I’m fit for duty, I’m just non-deployable. I can only go overseas for 1-2 months at a time based on my labs and appointments.