The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help! My son has just been diagnosed with mono and his 18 year old girlfriend has lupus. I am very concerned about her contracting mono from him and have no idea how this could affect her disease process. If anyone has insight on how this could affect her please share.....they are both young and I don't think either of them understand that this could have potentially devastating effects on her health and wellness.

Any advise you can give will be greatly appreciated!!

·
Registered
152 Posts
Well, obviously, I'm not an expert, and someone else on here might have a different opinion to offer you, but here's mine:

I wouldn't be too worried. While I was only recently diagnosed, I have most likely been sick for upwards of 5 years, if not more. I had mono only a couple years ago... I was extra tired, it made my spleen hurt, but I recovered in a few weeks.

I guess it would depend on exactly how sick she is with lupus. I was just suffering chronic fatigue, joint aches, and chronic swollen glands. My organs were not involved. But, she is lucky to have someone who cares so much about her wellbeing!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
She has the "typical" fatigue, joint pain, stiffness, etc. No organ involvement to my knowledge. I suppose I am wondering if she were to contract mono if it would most likely intensify her current symptoms and if there are any potential significant risks. I have looked on the net and am not finding anything specific. My husband has MS (different I know but still autoimmune) and so I would guess that her body's response to mono could be different than that of an otherwise healthy person. She currently does not have a doctor/insurance so there is no one for her to ask for advice.

Thank you so much for the quick reply and I will pass that information along. We care very much for her...she is a good kid :)

·
Registered
152 Posts