TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I have never used a forum before, so please forgive me if I do things wrong. I have recently been told I have Lupus. Could anyone rplease tell me if it is normal to experience pins and needles in my left thumb and forefinger.
I lso have a dull ache in my left arm. Went to see GP today and he said if Iget chest pain go A and E. (Not very helpful)
Anyway here goes for my first message. Ihope it appears on screen!!!

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hello there and welcome :)

Is it your GP or a rheumatologist who diagnosed you with lupus? I hope you have been referred to a rheumatologist.

It's not easy to say if a symptom or other is "normal" as so many people experience so many different things with lupus and there are also so many reasons why you may experience those pins and needles. Definitely something to mention to the rheumatologist and not really normal but maybe not particularly serious.

That was a very weird comment from your GP about chest pain. I would think most of us would think that A and E is a good idea if we had chest pain! Is there a particular reason why he singled out chest pain? Have you had problems breathing or pain in your chest?

I hope you enjoy being here with us on the site. There is a wealth of experience, great support and loads of really nice people here.

Please remember when looking through posts that those who post here most often are newly diagnosed like yourself, not yet diagnosed and looking for answers or the rarer more seriously ill people. Just so that you don't "panic" reading some of the posts. There is every reason to believe that once your medication gets underway you will feel a whole lot better and go back to leading a pretty normal life even if with a few adjustments.

bye for now,
Katharine

·
Registered
4,444 Posts