TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
580 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While i was in the hospital. the er did an anticougulant test on me and came back 27 normal is 20.

i have been worried about this all this time and just wanted to get some suggestion from you.

they put me on aggrenox a blood thinner. im a bit worried because im not sure if this is enough to avoid a blood clot (im afraid of getting a heart attack or a stroke., is my main concern.

if i hada result of 27 what should be my next step. what kind of a doctor should i be seeing for this? if i get a positive anticardiolipid result. Does that mean that i have hughes syndrome? i dont want to get a heart attack of stroke before they do something about it.

·
Administrator
10,165 Posts
Hi Sushi,

The way I read it Aggrenox not only has an aspirin component but also another component to help the platelets not stick together. It is commonly used for stroke and TIA patients. I am not an expert but it should help keep your blood from clotting.

TBunny posted something that might interest you:

http://www.thelupussite.com/forum/showthread.php?t=68698&highlight=aggrenox

Take care,
Lazylegs

·
Registered
580 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hi lazylegs, i tried that link but, it said i do not have access to the page.

thank you.

·
Registered
15,684 Posts
Hi Sushi,

The link works ok for me?

love
Lily

·
Registered
14,661 Posts
Dear Sushi

I am sorry you have this new worry. I guess the only way to look at it is that this drug is very effective in reducing strokes and such.

I believe that both the anti coagulant and the anti cardiolipin levels can vary from time to time. That's why they usually test twice at an interval of 6-8 weeks. I am sure they will be keeping a very close eye on you.