The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
The one and only
1,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been coming to this site for a few years now… and usually I am talking about my battle with this stupid disease. Well today I am coming here for my sister. She is a member of the site because she was diagnosed with sjogrens a while back. She has the dry eyes, dry mouth, memory loss, joint pain, change in taste, smell, fatigue, etc just a lot of the classic signs for that disease. Well this summer has been pretty bad for the both of us (she was living with me)… She had blood work done a few weeks ago because the rheumy saw some changes in her and she was just feeling not so good physically. Plus she moved out of my house over the weekend (which was bad because she woke up the next morning with swollen hands and lots of pain). So anyways, my family is set to go to a family reunion this weekend and she was supposed to be today but she gets a call from the doc saying that she is in a major LUPUS flare, with kidney involvement and has advised her that flying and the change of attitude could be VERY detrimental he wants to see her ASAP and is trying to avoid hospitalizing her, but its still a possibility once he sees her (this all happened late in the day, she is actually at the rheumy as we speak) so her trip is canceled. I feel so bad for her, she is only 26… we have ALL been looking forward to this mini vacay and seeing family and now we have to leave her behind. She doesn’t want for us to stay behind with her…. And I totally understand where she is coming from. I have had to miss a lot of family, parties that I have planned (the show must go on) and other things because I’ve been in the hospital. But I still feel very bad for her – because I know the feeling.