TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,289 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,

Hope everyone is having a good weekend. I am no longer able to look after my garden the way I used to and Hubby is too busy with work and just manages to cut the grass.

Over the last 18 months the garden got abit overgrown and I had someone come in last week to remove some trees and bushes and cut back the rest. I now have space for around 8 bushes or plants but I need something that is easy maintenance and won't get out of hand. I like the garden to look nice but I'm no expert.

At the moment I have a hydrangea, rhododendron, japanese azalea, pieris carnival, an orange flowered thingy and a blue one. :hehe: At the front it is more of a rockery with roses, conifers, heather and a white flowering bush.

I know there are a few green fingered lupies out there so I'm calling on your expertise to help get my garden back into shape.

Thanks in advance,

Hugz, :grhug:

Pam xxx

·
Registered
117 Posts
I hate to weed!

I love gardening but too have gotten to the point of not being able to handle hard stuff. Bending and squating is hard for me now but I love my flowers. I plant only perinials so they can come back every year.
I also have plastic placed under my flowers with a hole in the center along with pine straw on top. This keeps the moisture in my flower bed and helps to keep from watering alot.
Also I have a vegetable container garden this year. My husband and I decided on that one. Am getting fresh bell peppers, squash, zucchini, and tomatoes. We placed a plastic tarp on the ground, added a rock border, bought large tree like nursery containers that have holes in the bottom. Placed plastic trays underneath so they will hold in water and have been growing the garden ever since.