The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiya all. I'm new to this, so will introduce myself. I saw my GP in June after several months of tiredness. By the time I saw him a rash had developed and I was having shivering fevers at night and had swollen glands in my neck.
I was referred to a dermatologist who diagnosed urticarial vasculitis.

Since then I've been trying different drug regimes; currently on loratidine, fexofenadine, hydroxyzine and ranitidine. After a course of steroids my skin is great. I gave however developed shooting pains at random places, usually my hands and feet, and alcohol gives me fever symptoms. My dermatologist has referred me to a rheumatologist and opthalmiligist(my eyes occasionally show signs of uveitis). My GP has advised that in light of my symptoms and positive auto antibodies (DNA, Ro and La) I almost certainly gave SLE.
I am still tired, and finding it hard to work full time - I used to travel a lot with my job but have stopped that for now).
I'm looking forward to talking to you all and learning lots!

Lynne

·
4,445 Posts
HI Lynne and welcome... there is a wealth of information here from kind, humorous individuals who have so much experience.. I definitely found this the best source of info when I was diagnosed 10 mths ago....start a symptom diary..daily logging pain scale 0-10 and photos of any rashes, swellings etc ready for your rheumy appointment.. until the next time.
Claire XX

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Claire - great to hear from you. Your advice about pain levels for the rheumatologist is really useful. Waiting list is 10 weeks so I have plenty time to keep a log of symptoms!
Thanks again.
Lynne

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hello Lynne and :welcome: