The Lupus Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I was recently diagnosed with SLE lupus in March and was in the hospital for two months. the lupus is attacking my muscles and I wanted to find out from people on this website: has anyone undergone Cytoxan chemotherapy for the lupus? if you have did it work for you? what type of lupus do you have and what body parts are being affected? I also wanted to find out if anyone else who is having muscle attack (high CK or CPK level) and inflammation from their lupus is also having difficulty walking? if so what medication are you on and what have the doctors been saying about it since I'm new to this any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated. I've finished 12 weeks of Physical Therapy and I'm still having difficulty. I've been to several doctors and have had several MRIs which do not show any issues. I've also recently started soaking in tub and using a hand massage on both legs. The neurologists cannot find anything and the Rhematologists think it might be the Lupus, the medication, and/or both.

Just finished 6 rounds of Cytoxan and high dose steroids now being tapered...currently on 10mg per day and coming down soon. I supplement with Ginger, Turmeric, JustOne Multivitamin, FishOil with high Omega 3, and Magnessium (sometimes).

·
Administrator
10,177 Posts
Welcome LupusMuscleAttac.

Muscle weakness is one of my problems. Unlike you my CK levels are normal and always have been. The neurologist diagnosed it as Myelopathy. Cytoxan was a choice for me but I decided to try Rituxan as it seemed to have fewer side effects. I find it a constant battle to keep the muscles strong. There is a fine line between doing enough and overdoing. Different aides are invaluable for me.

Take care,
Lazylegs

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3