TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone!

Well this is all very new to me! Just turned 36 and I have been diagnosed with lupus nephritis, which is in my kidneys. Had the biopsy last week, not very pleasant, but glad that the doctors have finally taken notice.

I am the steroids prednisolone, mmf, lansoprazole and alendronate now. My body is not used to so much medication! It all feels a bit strange.

I am trying to get to terms with everything, as I am wiped out and so tired. For the last 4 years doctors said I had RA, until last september when my flare ups were getting worse and I felt tired and ill all the time. Finally, they tested for lupus, which came up positive.

I have had to stop work, as my job was very physical and lots of wear and tear on my body, I worked as a spa holistic therapist. I have decided to take a break and try and get myself back on track and get healthy and stabilise my condidtion with all these new drugs. I am having a re-think on the career path and will probably take it easy.

It really has knocked me, as I am so used to running around, working and getting things done. I am now just sitting down loads!

I would really value some advice about coming to terms with it all and any medication advice. I will be lowering my steroid dose soon, so hopefully, not feel so wobbly all the time.

Looking forward to hearing about your experiences and hope that we can all help each other.

Best regards

Mich :)

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hello Mich and welcome :)

I'm sorry to hear what brings you here but glad that you finally have a correct diagnosis and are on the path to better treatment.