TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since i'm fairly new to this disease I am not yet familiar with all the aspects of it. My lupus so far is pretty mild. No organ involvement .I'm on plaquenil,and that's all. For the past month I have been feeling really really rotten. The fatigue and aches were worse then ever ,but i also developed the chills ,alternating with hot flashes, eyes that wouldn't stop watering , headaches ,and sinus pain. Now all of a sudden i wake up on Friday and i'm feeling so much better. So is that what a flare feels like? Well, maybe that is a stupid question because I'm pretty sure that's what MY flare feels like. But are those the same symptoms that most people have when they have a flare?Is a month long flare pretty normal? And is it okay to go on prednisone only when you are in a flare ? I really don't want to go through another month like that if i can take something to get me through it. I definatly do not want to go on prednisone full time though. Is it okay to just take it intermitedly?
My rheumatologist is a 2 hour round trip,and really hard to get in to,otherwise I would be asking her these questions. Besides I find that you guys on here are great about answering my question in a knowledgable way.,and it doesn't cost me $120.

thanks ,Kate

·
Registered
1,101 Posts
Dear Kate,
So glad you are feeling a bit better. As to your question about the nature of a flare, it is probably as variable as you would expect from "the disease of a thousand faces". For me a flare involves screaming painful joints, fogginess of mind, sometimes a mylar rash, fatigue, stiffness and occasional racking crippling spasms. But the next Lupus sufferer may have a different combination.