The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi my name is corie, im a 17 year old female with brain lupus.
Does any one know if omega 3-6-9 fish old helps in any way, it just i was one told it did.
I also have epilepsy as a side effect of lupus, any info on how i could improve my life with diets or anything like that.

Thank you
Corie :)

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hello Corie :)

I'm afraid I don't have any answers to your questions but we met in chat and I just wanted to welcome you again.

Katharine

·
Registered
4,369 Posts
Hi Corie and welcome to the site!

Sorry, but like Katharine I have no knowledge on the pro's and con's of taking Omega 3-6-9 fish oils and their benefits (if any) for helping a connective tissue disease.

Perhaps someone with knowledge will be along to give you advice!

Take care,

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hi again,

As far as I know there is some evidence that omega oils are indeed beneficial both for their action on the brain and also in helping with joint pain. I don't know to what extent their benefits have been clinically "proven" nor if it has been tested for people with CNS lupus.

This is just me but I have mixed feelings about it mainly for "financial" reasons which may sound silly... but the other day my chemist was talking to me about it and my problem is that this disease has already cost me a lot for several reasons and sometimes there are choices to be made. A lot of the meds I take aren't reimbursed and the same goes for the vitamins such as D, B complex and the calcium supplements.

I don't mean to sound negative here and that really is just my opinion. I hope others can bring more useful information :)

Katharine

·
Registered
15,684 Posts
Hi and welcome,