The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My rheum suggested methotrexate or imuran and gave me the choice to think it over and do research on which one I would want to try. I've never tried either before. I'm pretty worried. Which one causes less hair loss? Do they help with joint pain? I can't find any good info on the Web I rather hear personal experiences and then make my decision. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,835 Posts
Hi:

I had problems with both...but I am only one person. Many people have great results with them.

Methotrexate made me nauseous and tired for 2 or 3 days after I took it, then I would get anxious about having to go through it all over again, so it was just awful.

Imuran game me siezures (very very rare) according to my Dr.

I am presently on CellCept 500mg 2X a day + 5mg Prendisone a day and this seems to be a good mix for me.

I am sure others will come along with the good stuff.

I didn't loose hair on either one, I did loose alot of hair on Arava, but it hase all grown back since on CellCept.

Stephanie

·
Registered
468 Posts
I didn't lose hair with either one, I had nausea with the methotrexate, but I now take it in an injection so there's no nausea. My rheumatologist took me off imuran, so I wasn't on it really long enough to know. The methotrexate has helped with the joint pain, but right now I am in a flare so I am not all that good of judge at how it makes you feel as I feel really yucky.:(

·
Registered
8,577 Posts
Hi,