TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
earthling
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am having some bad stomach problems, nausea and frequently feel like I'll have diarrhea & end up not eating most of the day. My rheumy said that stomach problems aren't usually a symptom of lupus, is this true??? I am wondering if anyone has stomach problems as well? (I don't think my upset stomach is medication related.)
Thank you,
Cynthia

·
Registered
360 Posts
Hi Cynthia,

My stomach problems were related to the Imuran and got better when I started eating Activia every day. But my understanding is lupus can affect any part of the body, including the stomach. I know for a fact that Sjogren's can, and it's closely related to lupus. I'm no expert, but I think your doctor is all wet.

Why don't you try the Activia? It really helped me a lot. It took several days to kick in, but it's so much better than taking another medication. Maybe your whole digestive system is a bit off and whether it's from lupus, meds, whatever, the Activia might just help. Good luck.

·
Registered
467 Posts
:wavesmile:hi cynthia

i'm sorry that you are feeling so bad. i have the same problem. i'm never hungry, when i do eat i'm nauseous and when its real bad i hurl :sick:. i got very ill 6 yrs ago after 3 weeks of hurling and ended up in the hospital for a month.
i was finally diagnosed with gastroparisis, meaning my stomach was not digesting my food. not sure if its actually lupus persay but i did read that some types of neuropothies can cause it, which i have. needless to say i don't weigh very much do to this. they gave me erythomyicin elixar. it some how makes your digestive system start churning.
this is what happened to me but i'm not a doctor but you might want to ask your doctor.

hope you feel better soon

hugs and kisses

·
smile xxx hugs to all xxx
77 Posts
earthling;545168 said:
Hello,