The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I previously posted this but think it was in the wrong spot.
Neuropathy

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've been reading a bit about neuropathy and believe I may have it. I was diagnosed with Lupus, Raynaud's and Vasculitis last year. My nephrologist suspects I also have a mild Wegener's disease.

I've been experiencing a burning and sometimes severe pain in my feet and sometimes in my hands. I've even had a few occasions where my hip area had the same problem. The pain can really become horrible. It varies where it is also, usually where my toes connect and the top of my feet.

I have a Rheumatologist check up next week and will be mentioning it. I am on my feet all day (I'm a Preschool Teacher) so at first I thought it was because of that. Got some support hose, due to swelling in feet and ankles that my doctor thinks is due to all my meds. They don't always work.

Just wondered what you thought.

Thanks!
Michelle

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hi there,

Yes, I did see your post in passing - always best to start a new thread :)

I have neuropathy and like you get very painful feet and hands. They can also be rather numb or sleepy, it is difficult to describe rather like having cold wet socks on.

Anyway, you should definitely mention it to your rheumy and possibly ask for a neurology referral. They can do tests like EMG tests and MRIs to check out what's happening and see if something can be done to relieve it.

In my case my neuropathy is not particularly serious and remains stable. It is also linked directly to my lupus so, basically, once the disease is better controlled, so is the neuropathy.

I was a teacher too - except I taught adults in companies - but simply cannot stand for more than about half an hour tops.

Katharine

·
elisabethm
512 Posts