The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
March 3rd I start a new position. ( i have been a hospital nurse, medical surgical floor for seventeen years, five at this hospital)

I will be in an office position, some bending and lifting of charts, but no more lifting people in the bed, out of the bed, on the toilet, off the toilet, in the chair, out of the chair, off the floor..... well you get my drift!:rotfl:

I am scared a little as I really like my job, most of the time everyone has a bad day now and again. But I really can not handle so much standing and walking and that slight bend over the bed/patient anymore. My joint pain has gotten worse, i have a bad lower back and have a new cyst there also. I have arthritis in my heel and a bunion on the other foot that was to come off in january but my back went out again and had to take time off due to that. They say my lupus is mild as i have no organ problems but this joint pain and fatigue can be quite bad.

I think chart review and keeping track of core measures= tracking treatment of pneumonia, heart attack patients etc.. may be a little ho hum but I just cant take the pain anymore. I have minimal pain on my days off but it is so bad on the days i work i can hardly walk to my car at night. :sad:

I took a medical coding class two years ago and I am certified. I was just waiting for something to come up. This job will also have some diagnosis codes to report. I have five days left to work on the floor as i am only part time. I am planning on getting back to my swim class three times a week once I get into the swing of things. I hope all this helps. i am no where near disability and yet it is so hard to keep going all day without a break most days untill 1:00pm.

Wish me luck and reduction of pain!:thumbs: Lisa

·
Registered
8,577 Posts
Lisa,