The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone

I've just been officially diagnosed with lupus although i've had the symptoms for about a year now and been on Plaquenil for 4 months. It's nice to have an official diagnosis but now im really scared about what will happen for me in the future. Im a newly qualified nurse working in ITU and I never want to give up my work!
It's nice there's a group of people going through the same things as me! I hope I can find some support here and also be helpful to others

Nug x

·
Registered
4,369 Posts
Hello and welcome Nug,

I hope you are coping okay with outcome and symptoms! It's good that you were started on the Plaquneil prior to the diagnoses!

Keep in touch!

Love Lesley

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hello Nug and welcome :)

Getting a diagnosis does lead to a mixed bag of feelings. I think many of us are relieved that we finally have answers but it can also be quite worrying as we don't know quite where our illness and treatment will go.

At the end of the day, it is best to try and just take things one day at a time and hopefully you will be one of the many who can carry on much as normal with treatment. If not, you will need to adopt that tactic to best cope with the unpredictability of the disease and learn to make lifestyle changes like pacing yourself and avoiding stress which will help you get through your days better.

Hopefully the plaquenil will make a big difference to you, if it hasn't already kicked in.

bye for now,
Katharine

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
Hello Nug, Glad you obviously enjoy your job. I hope it goes well for you. Many girls with Lupus can work. I can't unfortunately but I do have other conditions too.
Nice to meet you.
x Lola

·
Registered
6,152 Posts
Hi Nug