The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:sad: Up to now, I had been doing quite well since this all began 2 years ago. Initially treated with 10mg pred and Plaquenil, reduced to 5 mg pred. My initial symptoms were joint pain and fatigue. Over the past year, have had no fatigue, and very minimal occasional joint discomfort, really not interfering with my normal activities which recently included walking several miles at Disney with the family for example.

My labs have always been positive for high DNA, and normal to borderline normal sed rate, and all urines including my weekly at home urine dip sticks had been negative.

Until 2 weeks ago, that is. Upon my return home from a 1 week Florida vacation. I felt absolutely fine. But my dipsticks have consistently, for the past 2 weeks, been trace positive for protein, and trace positive for leukocytes. My formal lab urine analysis was trace positive for protein, 5 to 10 red blood cells per HPF and 5 to 10 white blood cells per HPF. My spot urine protein test was positive, 700 mg. Next test is the 24 hour urine collection.

IF my 24 hour urine confirms the spot urine numbers -- what is ahead for me ???

Will I need a kidney biopsy ? Can I be treated without a kidney biopsy ? Is it common to up the prednisone for a while as a treatment, or is it common to add another med ?

Thanks -- Bogey:sad:

·
Registered
4,444 Posts
Perhaps you overdid it a little in Florida (walking and too much sunshine?)? I am hopeful for you that this is just a little miniflare and will settle sooner rather than later. I have read about other people flaring up systemically following sunshine exposure...