TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm Jenn -
Medical guinea pig - newly diagnosed with Tumid Lupus Panniculitis and I forget the last word, which is the "E" also in the SLE & (potential MCTD) . I'm in a pms driven flare at the moment - ankles are aching - shoulders, elbows, both arm & shoulder and back muscles. I fell on Monday because my legs just stopped while I was walking... I'm very confused... I just started plaquinil & stopped prednisone - I feel worse than I've ever felt. Yesterday was awful, today a bit better - but not much. It feels like someone is hammering a nail into my elbow and I am just achy everywhere - I will be calling my doctor when I get home (at work like this) -- advil doesn't cut it for the pain - any other suggestions? Any/all advice welcome - I'm still new with this and on the verge of tears from the pain at the moment.

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hello Jenn and :welcome:

I'm sorry to hear what brings you here and especially that you are in so much pain right now.

I'm afraid I don't have any suggestions other than the one you have put forward yourself which is to call your doc.

It sounds rather like it might be an idea to prolong the pred you have been taking a little longer as plaquenil does take rather a while to kick in (often between 3-6 months).

sending plenty of cyber hugs, bye for now :hug:
Katharine

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for your quick response. I'm thankful to find a forum that is active that I can participae in. I feel like no one understands me, or how I feel & when I mention that I have Lupus - people act like I've said I have leprosy & it's so drastic.
Thank you for your kind words and cyber hugs. I'm thankful to have found this site and will utilize it for more than just complaining. :)

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Yes Jenn, it's a great site and very active as you say. We have people from all over the world here :)