The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I was just looking for a bit of advice really, I have a long list of symtoms which could be related to lupus, umm...dont really know where to start, its been going on for about 10 years now, severe tiredness, depression, joint pain, muscular pains, especially legs! Anaemia, photosensitivity, headaches, myalgia, mouth ulcers, I bruise REALLY easily too! I have also had a "heart" thing for about 8 years, the Drs put a 24 hour tape on me, but nothing showed up so they have done nothing else!

I know I am probably being vague, but to me it is sounding like Lupus associated symptoms! I used to be a nurse, so medical knowledge is not a good thing when you KNOW there is something wrong, but the doctors wont do anything! I also have a 16 month old baby and things have been a lot worse since!!

Any advice would be very much appreciated! Hope I am not being a self diagnosing hypochondriac!

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hi Kirstie and welcome!!

As a nurse, I'm sure that you're well aware of the dangers of self diagnosis and it seems highly unlikely that you're being a hypochondriac :)

You have a set of pretty important symptoms which could well be lupus (or another auto-immune disease) related. You definitely shouldn't be ignoring all this and you need to "insist" until you get a referral to a rheumy.

I can sympathise with it being difficult with a young baby. As is, it's a tiring enough time, but with all that going on too, it's so much worse. I'm so glad mine can do their own sandwiches now :lol: I don't feel obliged to feed them any more when I feel bad!

I hope you get to the bottom of all this soon. It might be a long road but with determination and possibly bugging your GP :lol: (I did that a bit), you'll get there.

keep us posted,
Katharine

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·