TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey My name is Laurie I am still waiting after 10 years for a DX they think it is most likely LUPUS . I have the rash on my face and 97 % of all the other symptoms . I am new to all this computer stuff so I hope this is how it works .
I am just tired of not being able to talk to anyone else who understands the things this sickness throughs at you . I hope to meet some new friends and get some answers from all of this . So I guess I will talk to you all later.

Laurie

·
Registered
14,661 Posts
Welcome to the forum Laurie ! :)

I am sorry what brings you here though.

I wonder why there is such a delay in diagnosis if you have so many symptoms. Sometimes this happens because there is no matching bloodwork but a skin biopsy can be very useful even when taken from unaffected areas. There are only four lupus specific symptoms and skin is one.
Unfortunately other symptoms resemble those of many other diseases and diagnosis often needs an expert experienced evaluation. Some of the other diseases often accompany lupus so there can be confusion that way, others aren't tested for and elimination of other possible causes is important

Sometimes it happens because doctors are ignorant - many rheumatologists have no experience with lupus many have complete misconceptions. I even heard that a doctor speaking at a lupus group said it couldn't be lupus if the skin wasn't affected.

Being ill is isolating whatever the cause and having a relatively unknown disease gets very lonely.
I hope we can help you to get some answers - there's a wealth of information, advice and understanding here, so just ask away. It could be helpful to know what your symptoms are and what testing has been done

Bye for now :)
Clare

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hello Laurie and welcome :)

I'm sorry to hear that you have been having such a hard time getting a diagnosis. I really hope that you'll get some answers soon.