The Lupus Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm new to any chat groups, but not new to the illness. I think I've been in denial, even after how sick I've really been - still refusing to give myself some slack which makes me even sicker. How do you learn to be kinder to yourself?

·
11,409 Posts
Welcome to the lupus forum Justduckie.:welcome:

You learn to listen to your body. I have found out you can't push your body or you'll end up hurting that much more. Plus the fatigue gets really bad.

You will find here very caring members and good information about lupus. You can post questions, do a search or there is a chat room.

What meds are you on? How long have you been dxed?

Take care and it is nice to meet you.
:flowery:
Keebler

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hello there and welcome,

That is a good question, how do we learn to be kinder to ourselves? I think that in today's society it is terribly difficult to actually get yourself in that mindset. All that is important is productivity "Time is money" etc. Even those around us, family, friends, and even husbands can't quite understand the disease (and who'd blame them) and can't see that rest and pacing yourself is just so essential.

so, is it little wonder that we don't do it. Well, actually I do! But I am lucky. I have a husband who does see what a difference it makes and I grew up around this disease and saw just how ill Mum could make herself at times through trying to fight through it. I'm lucky to have complete understanding of my disease through Mum and, especially, here. Also, I have to say that the Belgians have a really good sense of the life work balance. They work to live, they don't live to work.

Being on these boards and seeing that I am not the only one that needs to rest and that needs to look after myself makes me feel somehow less "lazy".