The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I have just been diagnosed with Lupus and the doctor is doing furher tests to see what area of my body it has affected.

I am writing this today as I have taken a sick day from work as I am so tired/ aching/ have a cough and a headache - is this all to do with my Lupus? It would be nice to know if this was my Lupus causing this as it is distressing :worried:

Thanks people :)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hi

I'm also new to this so I am by no means an expert. I haven't had a proper diagnosis yet but I was referred to a dermatologist last week who is convinced I have Lupus and he has put me on steroids while he awaits the results of my blood tests etc, although my ANA test came back negative. I just wanted to say that I know how you feel, I felt exactly the same as that for the last couple of weeks and my consultant said he thought it was part of the Lupus. He said to have complete rest and keep taking ibuprofen/paracetamol. I started to feel a bit better yesterday although my joints are bad today.

Hope you feel better soon
Suzie

·
Registered
3,854 Posts
seeing you have a cough, I wonder if you have a cold/flu or other virus. Hope you feel better soon

raglet

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hi Kalula and welcome :)

Sorry to hear about your diagnosis. It can be a bit scary and distressing to begin with but you will soon feel better informed and more at ease.
Has the doctor started you on treatment yet? The treatment can take quite a while to work as baseline drugs like plaquenil work on the longterm but they will hopefully make a huge difference and get you back to feeling much better very soon.