The Lupus Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I just have a question about brain fog. I am wondering for those of you who experience brain fog, do you only experience brain fog when you have a flare up? I've recently noticed that I mix up words when I speak and write but I'm currently not in a flare. I'm confused because my lupus affects my kidney and skin but not my nervous system. I also find that I have difficulty concentrating and staying focused. It's so frustrating because I am a masters student and I have to write reports and papers constantly.

I also wonder if I'm experiencing symptoms of depression. I'm very stressed and feeling very unmotivated. And just need to vent!!!! I don't see a way out because I HAVE to finish my masters and sometimes it feels like it's a losing battle. I wonder if it's just me and I'm blaming it on lupus.

Anyway, any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Lazybone

·
Registered
22 Posts
Brain fog is just like a flare, it turns on and off at any given moment. I don't have to be in flare in order for the brain fog to suddenly disrupt my day. I 'll have a hard time spitting out words, I'm dizzy, my head feels soooo heavy and my eyes get real droopy. And depression is a given when you feel this bad because you just don't have the motivation to perform daily tasks. I'm amazed when it suddenly is turned off and then I'm somewhat back to normal. Even my husband is amazed! Kudos to you for pushing foward with your masters and I hope you'll be okay and stay strong because it's not jjust you, it is the Lupus although it is a mystery if the Lupus you have doesn't effect yoour nervous system . That is something to ask your Rhuemy. My experience is getting brain fog without a flare up.

·
Registered
4,369 Posts
Hi, sorru you have the Brian Fog.

Someone suggested B12 defficiency can cause problems, might be worth getting checked!

Take care,

Lesley

·
Registered
328 Posts