TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am a graduate student studying the social aspects of lupus in addition to having lupus myself. I'm looking for people would would be willing to answer just a few questions on how lupus has affected your social network (friends, family, co-workers, acquaintances) and social support.

It will be anonymous and brief. You can post your answers to these questions right in this forum or if you feel more comfortable, you can copy the questions into an email and send your answers to:

[email protected]

Here are the questions:

1a. Age:
1b. Race:
1c. Gender:
1d. Lupus Type (systemic or discoid):
2. Number of years since you were diagnosed with lupus:

3. Overall, has lupus increased or decreased the number of intimate (closest) friends, significant others, or family in your life?

4. Estimate by how many people (example: I am not in contact with 5 of my closest friends anymore since being diagnosed with lupus)?

5. Overall, has lupus increased or decreased the number of casual friends and family in your life?

6. Estimate by how many people?

7. Overall, has lupus increased or decreased the number of acquaintances in your life?

8. Estimate by how many people?

9a. Overall, has the quality of your social relationships increased or decreased since your diagnosis?

9b. Rate the quality of your social relationships since your diagnosis on a scale from 1 (lowest quality) to 10 (highest quality):

10. From a scale of 1 to 10, give an overall rating of how emotionally supportive (showing love, caring, sympathy, understanding, esteem, and value) you feel the people in your life are towards you since your diagnosis (1 being not at all supportive to 10 being perfect in their support).