The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.
I was diagnosed with mild sle two years ago at st thomas. I currently take sertraline and plaqeunil daily and have been relatively well. Until this weekend when I had a terrible headache and have since had pains in my forehead, nose, cheeks and behind my eyes. I feel very giddy and so tired and tearful and feel as if something keeps running down my throat. Mr dr has said it is a sinus infection and prescribed antibiotics. I am on my 4th day of them and still feel rough. Is this a flare or has anyone had a sinus infection and felt the same. I just want to feel better. Help please. xx

·
Registered
301 Posts
Hi Angie

Welcome to the site!

I'm not a doctor but I have had a sinus infection in the past with symptoms similar to yours and it was nothing to do with lupus. I do know some people do have sinus inflammation as part of the disease and have different treatment. Lupus has many faces but we can still get non-lupus problems :hehe: .

I hope you are feeling better soon and hopefully others can give better advice than me.

Love Judi xx

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Judi.

Thank you for you reply. I just hope my antibitics start working soon, as my life seems to be on hold again waiting to feel well. Do you find that illnesses take longer to clear up than they would in someone without Lupus. PS. my nose has now gone freezing cold to the touch and my ears have blocked up. xxxx

·
Registered
301 Posts
Hi Angie

I am sure that the antibs will kick in soon. A colleague of mine was prone to these infections and she usually started to feel better after 5 or 6 days. It depends on the infection and whether you have the right antib for it.

I find that infections take longer to clear up - I've just got better from a four-week cold!!!! (rest of the family only took 3 weeks :hehe: ).