TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since my dx I've been on Plaquenil, folic acid and MTX but now the Imuran has replaced the MTX and folic acid. Both meds have given me nasty acne. Now, I've dealt with acne all my adult life but this is different and leaves pitted scars from even the small bumps. What's even more annoying is now the blemishes take FOREVER to heal. I have pink marks on my face from blemishes 6 months ago. Is this from the lupus/Sjogren's or the meds? I suspect it's the meds but I'm still relatively new at this whole thing so I'm hoping one of you veterans can clue me in. Thanks!

·
The Other Illinois Tammy
1,193 Posts
Jesse,
Hi and I am sorry that you have to deal with this on top of the disease. I can tell you I have sle and have been on and off plaqs for 17 years now. I have never had the problem that you are talking about. I do know that stress can cause acne and often a dermy can help in this department. I would hope that you could find a good one and speak with them about your condition they can help a lot.
Best of luck to you can keep us posted.
Tammy

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I did talk to my derm. about it and he recommended a new topical drug to try. The blemishes were few and far between at that time so I didn't take the prescription. My derm just tends to recommend whatever the drug salesman is pitching at the time anyway so I wasn't eager to try it. Since that appointment the acne has gotten worse and I've noticed the slow healing time. It will take several weeks to get an appointment with a new doctor so I was hoping to get some insight in the interim.

·
rockstar!
837 Posts
Jesse --