The Lupus Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've posted various parts of this post over on the men with lupus place an in a "Symptoms" thread about CNS involvement, but I've edited it a bit and included it in this particular thread since I'm a newbie. I'm a 52 year old physically active man who was recently diagnosed with CNS Lupus.

After eight years of various nerve entrapment surgeries, unexplained falls, chiropractor visits for "pinched nerves," and living with unexplained chronic pain that seemed to come and go from no where, etc., I was recently diagnosed with CNS lupus.

Apparently it has been attacking my peripheral nerves for quite a while, often causing a strange stroke-like gait or a foot drop that causes me to fall (but only during flares). I was a runner/cyclist and always attributed the bouts to over training, pulled muscles, pinched nerves, etc. Athletes always blame themselves or their training.

I've been having these flare ups for the past 8 years or so, and they've usually gone away on their own or after the nerve surgeries I didn't need (apparently because they gave me steroids to help heal without scar tissue).

This particular flare up started five months ago and by the time I got a diagnosis, I was just about in a walker. At any rate, I've been on prednisone and hydrochlorquinine for about a month, and I seem to be improving. Today, I was able to walk a three mile loop slowly. When not flaring, I walked my labs five miles every morning at just about a jogging pace, and usually ran, lifted weights, or cycled later in the day. What long strange trip it's been.