TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I haven't had a cold, sore throat or my usual bronchitis for over five years now. Even the last two years while I've been on immunosuppressants, I've avoided those germs. Now it seems, I'm getting a cold. I have a mild sore throat and cough and now I don't know what to do. Do I treat it the same way I did before the lupus and Sjogren's? Or do I have to call the doctor in case it turns nasty? Do the immunosuppressants make it harder to get rid of the cold? This is new territory for me so I'd appreciate your input. Thanks!

·
Registered
467 Posts
achoo

hi jesse

i get colds all the time unfortunately. now i'm not a doctor but i usually just take what i always take, motrin for fever and thera-flu so i can sleep well and it clears my congestion. sometimes it takes longer than i want to go away but at least i have some comfort. i know that when i was on interferon for my hep c my cold turn nasty so keep an eye on it and call your doctor.

hope you feel better soon
take care

·
11,405 Posts
Hi Jesse,

I am on methotrexate and when I gotmy first cold/cough I called my rhumey. The nurse said I should go to my GP right away. You have to be extra cautious when taking methotrexate.

I was put on antibiotics and couldn't take methotrexate while on antibiotics and wasn't to take metho until I felt better.

My advice is that you should get to your doctor and get checked out. Your immune system is suppressed and your body needs that time(without metho or any other drug like that)

Please keep us informed on how you are feeling.

Get better soon!

Lyn

·
Registered
1,999 Posts
Hi Jesse,
Are you sure it is a bug or is it allergies? I just finished a round of antibiotics due to allergies moving in and then starting a lung infection.
I am a firm believer in the "when in doubt, check it out" with your doctor.