TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone
I have been diagnosed as having mild lupus & am currently on plaquenil which after 4 months has now started to slowly work,the rash on my face is now pink rather than bright red,I dont feel quite so achy in my hands & feet & thank god my hair has almost stopped falling out,the brain fog has improved as well,the rheumy thinks I have probably had lupus for several years but my doctor missed it, but I have noticed over the last year (around the time the rash first appeared) that I seem to get really bad cystitis every 2 or 3 months which quickly turns into a urinary tract infection & has on a couple of occasions also spread to my kidneys,could anyone tell me if this could be linked to the lupus?,has the lupus made me more vulnerable to these kind of infections?
because Im still quite new to all this Im not sure yet what is causing what & just wondered does anyone else get these kind of problems so any input would be greatly appreciated,
thanks all x

·
Registered
360 Posts
Hi Shelley,

I have read of others who have had chronic problems with urinary tract infections related to lupus. I myself used to have a lot of trouble that way too, even though I would take all the usual precautions (panties that breath, voiding after intercourse, cranberry juice, etc.)